Dishwashers in the Revolution

Actively bringing about much needed change in our communities and hope to the broken and disheartened.

Erasing Hell – Francis Chan on Recent Controversies

I think Francis here offers a lot of insight into the recent controversies over the topic of  Hell (see my previous post about Love Wins). He always has been a very sincere and very honest follower of Christ and I am looking forward to reading this book. I think too often we make our own assumptions about who God is and how God acts that we get a sort of “god-complex” about the way we think things should be.

I hope you can take 10 minutes and check this video clip out. Like he said, real lives of real people are at stake in this controversy over who goes to Hell and for how long.

4 comments on “Erasing Hell – Francis Chan on Recent Controversies

  1. Andy
    June 15, 2011

    He “seems” to stay with the conservative, evangelical mainstream that hell is real and eternal. I’m looking forward to reading his book. Thanks for sharing. Appreciate your ministry.

  2. Noelle
    June 15, 2011

    I saw this video awhile back. I know the Christian community is at risk of idolizing him too much, but I am always impressed that he seems to consistently attempt to question himself and make it about God.

    The part that struck me about this video was the idea that people say “I can’t believe in a God who…Who what?” because it’s probably not a question that can fairly come out of our mouths…as if we are significant enough to hold God to our personal standards or even begin to understand his sovereignty or omniscience…it was a little convicting.

    • ryjohn
      June 16, 2011

      It’s funny you point this out Noelle because I think it’s so hard for me to accpet that I actually can’t understand God. Matt (the guy who commented below you) recently said that same sort of thing…that he doesnt understand how God works. It would seem (as a former Theology student) that the God we serve, who is the same yesterday, today, and forever, would leave some kind of a trail along history that we could analyze and subsequently come to a deeper understanding of who God really is and what he is like…but frankly we dont.

      It’s hard to serve a God I can’t understand because I’m so used to serving one’s I can.

  3. matt
    June 16, 2011

    I can’t even begin to imagine how hard it would be to be Francis Chan. He’s gotten so BIG in Christian culture that it must be an enormous challenge for him to maintain any semblance of humility.

    As far as his thoughts here, i agree wholeheartedly with his tone and sense of urgency. It’s time for the church (or at least for me) to begin to live out our (my) theology – before it’s too late.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2011 by in Ryan's Posts.
