Dishwashers in the Revolution

Actively bringing about much needed change in our communities and hope to the broken and disheartened.

Dave

So I’ve been in Vegas for about 6 months now and I couldn’t more excited about all that’s happened so far. The thing I am the most pumped about is the homeless ministry that has been birthed out of our house church. For the last three and half months we have been taking bread and pastries (donated by Panera) to a part of Downtown Vegas with a huge homeless population. It has by far been the most rewarding ministry I have ever done. Each week it seems that someone in our group gets an opportunity to pray with someone or share their faith in one way or another. This past Thursday it was my turn. We were out of water (we had passed out almost 200 bottles) and I had our last two bags of Panera goodies. The sun had already gone down and I was walking through a large abandoned trailer park, which is now just a large empty field with seemingly random cement pads in neat rows. I called out to a silhouette I saw perched on top of one of the pads and offered him a bag of Panera goodness. He turned down the bread, but in a way that only the loneliest people can, his demeanor and tone of voice let me know he wanted to have a conversation with someone more than anything.
His name was Dave. He has been on the street for a while now, about a year or so. After a divorce he was flat broke and then suffered a heart attack. With no money to pay the steep medical bills, Dave was homeless. He asked me what organization I was with and I told him I was part of a new church called Love Las Vegas. His face lit up and he told me that he was a Christian as well. We talked for about 20 minutes.
Dave said that the story of the apostle Paul helped him to keep a positive outlook, in contrast he considers himself lucky! He went on to recap the life of Paul, especially the hardships with enough detail to show that he had spent a significant amount of time studying scripture.
With tears in his eyes he finished by saying, “and if he could endure all of that and still serve God, I have no excuse.” I’m not sure at this point who was ministering to who. I got to pray with Dave and we exchanged contact info. I’m hoping to be able to stay in touch with him via e-mail.

About tylerhudg

Las Vegas // Houghton College '09 //

One comment on “Dave

  1. bobbie daigneault
    June 2, 2012

    WOW! GOD IS GOOD AND WHEN WE THINK WE ARE SUFFERING THE MOST, WE ARE NOT! WE MISS YOU VERY MUCH AND PRAY FOR YOU. TYLER, PLEASE KEEP ON KEEPING ON. YOU ARE GOOD AT WHAT YOU DO! LOVE YOU AND MISS YOU!
    BOBBIE D

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2012 by in Tyler's Posts and tagged , .
